Back to Home Page




Current Mood:
The current mood of deadmall at www.imood.com

Tuesday, August 9, 2022

SONG OF THE DAY:
"Land of My Dreams"
by Anna Domino (1989)






Tuesday, July 26, 2022

SONG OF THE DAY:
"One of Our Submarines"
by Thomas Dolby (1982)

This song is perfection.




Monday, May 30, 2022

SONG OF THE DAY:
"Clean, Clean" by The Buggles (1979)




Wednesday, May 25, 2022

SONG OF THE DAY:
"Masterpiece" by Gazebo (1982)
Listen & watch here.
Was reminded of this classic italo track by way of this amazing footage I found on youtube.




Tuesday, May 24, 2022

Been mulling over future plans (or cancellations) for my music project. Been wanting to change my stage name for a while now, for many reasons. Lots of people are riding the dead mall train these days. Which is great because dead malls and liminal space stuff is fascinating, and it's exciting to see so many people get into it... But as an artist, I feel lost in a wave of "zeitgeist" and the name isn't helping. I feel lumped in with genres and aesthetics that I don't even identify with. From 2018 to early 2020, I was still working on my identity as an artist under the name Dead Mall, working through all the kinks in my live shows and stuff, and then the pandemic/forest fires threw a wrench in my plans. I wasn't even sure if Dead Mall would come back after all of that. Now venues are having shows again, and I've recently been getting new opportunities to play shows & sell albums at shops - Which is great! - But for me, spiritually, the project just feels like it has already run it's course. It absolutely served it's purpose. I'm proud and fulfilled looking back on what I accomplished. It means a lot to me, I'd love to keep the concept evolving and put out a third album, but I've been so discouraged with the name being such a trend... So here I am, still struggling to make this decision:
Continue to revive a Dead Mall
...or...
Start completely over with a new name, new project, new energy.

-MM



Thursday, April 21, 2022

Looks like I spoke too soon. Having some more technical issues with finishing the tapes. And some existential ones too. The tape deck decided to shit quality. I don't know enough about recording tech to figure it out quickly. It might just need to be demagnitized, or some other more difficult solution that I simply don't have time/money/energy to fix. So for now I shoved the tape project materials in a closet so I can clear my head. Hoping to bring it back out and try to finish by the fall.


Friday, April 8, 2022

This song has been blaring inside my head for days.




Tuesday, April 5, 2022

DEAD MALL UPDATE: Cassettes are very well under way. All 50 copies of Hot Deal are finished. Currently working on the next 50 copies for Late Stage Fad. Everything is stamped front & back, J cards have been designed & printed, tabs are about to be popped out, and cellophane wrappers are the final touch. It's all coming together. They look great, and the sound is warm and boomy like a nice little cassette should be. But holy shit this entire project was a much larger undertaking than I expected. It took me a month just to locate a proper tape deck that didn't sound like shit, days of trouble shooting and losing my mind just to get the technology to even work properly before even being able to test a master copy. But I figured it out somehow. >:) -mm


Sunday, March 6, 2022

Hello internet abyss. I've been caught up in the physical world of work and chores and sleep and have missed you. I always love spewing into my tiny corner of the digital abyss when I can... so here's a cool song.



Espeically loving the last minute of this one, really beautiful synths, of course. Bye!
- - - mm



Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Finally uploaded all my lyrics from the new album LATE STAGE FAD. Check it ouuuut. And all my cassette making supplies arrived this week - yay. Now the hard part: adjusting the mix so it sounds good on tape. Lol. What the hell did I get myself in to?
-mm



Friday, January 14, 2022

Took a lil break from the website & journaling to relax after finishing Late Stage Fad. But then somehow my hands have pressed keys on my laptop which created an effect where blank cassette tapes, cases, and printing materials have been magically paid for and are currently in transit to my house. These materials will be used to create limited batches of my two albums onto cassette tapes. 50 copies of each album. I wasn't planning on doing this but in a coffee-fueled decision making frenzy it just happened. I mean... I should definitely have physical copies of my work, right? Otherwise, if/when the purple reptilian overlords cut off our internet supply - would DEAD MALL have ever existed? Would there be proof for future generations? With tapes in hand, I can at least try to assert my existence as a legitimate artist for about 30 more years before the tapes begin to degrade and die off, right? That's what the internet says anyway.
-mm


HOME | 2021 Entries